Financial literacy project

The Australian Shareholders’ Association (ASA) will be running a project funded by a ECSTRA (Financial Literacy Australia) grant to assist women 55+ to build confidence to participate in financial decision-making.

The goal of our financial literacy project, Own Your Financial Future, is to empower older women with an understanding of basic investment and financial concepts knowledge. Another objective is to give older women the confidence to have conversations with their partners, children and financial advisers about how the investments and finances are structured.

We completed the pilot project in Victoria in September 2018. Free for women over 55 we have 35 workshops scheduled around Australia with confirmed locations listed below.

The workshops will help you:

  • cut through finance and investing jargon
  • understand a financial plan
  • clarify options for managing your super
  • help you discuss your financial goals
  • learn how to source and engage with a professional adviser
  • develop the confidence to talk to the financial professionals and family and not be bamboozled!

These workshops are geared towards women who have never been involved in managing their finances or investments.

If you have never attended an education event about managing finances or investments, or do not know where the funding for your retirement comes from, you will benefit from these workshops.

March 2019

All workshops are free for attendees. Click on the city of your choice to register.

 Date

 City

 Time

 Venue 

 Tue 19 March  Melbourne, VIC  9.00am - 12.30pm  ibis Melbourne
 Wed 20 March  Melbourne, VIC  9.00am - 12.30pm  ibis Melbourne
 Mon 25 March  Brisbane, QLD  9.00am - 12.30pm  Asset Aviation International Pty Ltd
 Tue 26 March  Brisbane, QLD  9.00am - 12.30pm Asset Aviation International Pty Ltd
 Wed 27 March  Toowoomba, QLD  9.00am - 12.30pm  City Golf Club
 Thu 28 March  Sunshine Coast, QLD  9.00am - 12.30pm  Buderim Tavern

 

April 2019

Date

City

Time

Venue 

 Mon 8 April  Canberra, ACT  1.30pm - 5.00pm  Adina Serviced Apartments Kingston
 Tue 9 April  Batemans Bay, NSW  9.00am - 12.30pm  Batemans Bay Bay Link Community Rooms
 Wed 10 April  Canberra, ACT  9.00am - 12.30pm   Adina Serviced Apartments Kingston
 Thu 11 April  Wagga Wagga, NSW  9.00am - 12.30pm   Wagga RSL
 Mon 15 April  Hobart, TAS  9.00am - 12.30pm   Hadley's Hotel
 Mon 15 April  Hobart, TAS  1.30pm - 5.00pm  Hadley's Hotel
 Tue 16 April  Launceston, TAS   9.00am  - 12.30pm  Best Western Launceston

 

June 2019 

Date

City

Time

Venue 

 Tue 4 June  Perth, WA  1.30pm - 5.00pm  ibis Perth
 Wed 5 June  Perth, WA  9.00am - 12.30pm  ibis Perth
 Thu 6 June  Perth, WA  9.00am - 12.30pm   ibis Perth

 

September 2019

Registrations coming soon

 Date

 City

 Time

 Venue 

 Mon 2 Sep  Sydney, NSW  1.30pm - 5.00pm  venue TBA
 Tues 3 Sep  Wollongong, NSW  1.30pm - 5.00pm  venue TBA
 Wed 4 Sep   Sydney, NSW  9.00am - 12.30pm  venue TBA
 Wed 4 Sep   Sydney, NSW  1.30pm - 5.00pm  venue TBA
Thu 5 Sep   Sydney, NSW  9.00am - 12.30pm  venue TBA
 Fri 6 Sep  Newcastle, NSW  9.00am - 12.30pm  venue TBA